Building Development Department

The Building Development Department oversees permitting, inspections, local business taxes, arborist and flood plain management.

Contact Information:
Permitting and Local Business Tax: (727) 942-5617
Inspectors: (727) 942-5608
Schedule an Inspection: (727) 938-6500
Office Hours: M-F 8:00-4:30 for Permitting
Closed all federal holidays and Epiphany (open Columbus day)
Email:  dsinfo@ctsfl.us

For Building Development Forms, FEMA Information bulletins, memos and policies, please visit our DOCUMENT LIBRARY.

Building Development Department Staff
Building Development Director:
Kevin Powell, CBO, CFM, (727) 942-5604 or email: kpowell@ctsfl.us

Deputy Building Official:
David Gilson, CFM, (727) 942-5604, Cell (727) 741-9498 or email: dgilson@ctsfl.us

Floodplain Coordinator:
Megan Araya, CFM, (727) 942-5604, Cell (727) 224-3045 or email: maraya@ctsfl.us

Plans Examiner:
Lisa Godwin, CFM, (727) 942-5608 or email: lgodwin@ctsfl.us

Municipal arborist:
Shannon Brewer, (727) 942-5617, Cell (727) 916-2285 or email: sbrewer@ctsfl.us

Building Development Permit Technicians:
Michelle DiNenno, CFM, CPT, (727) 942-5617 or email: mdinenno@ctsfl.us
K. “Laney” Lane, CPT, CBTO, (727) 942-5607 or email: klane@ctsfl.us
Tracey Norris, (727) 942-5617 or email: tnorris@ctsfl.us

Building Development Inspectors:
David Lero, (727) 942-5608, Cell (727) 916-1349 or email: dlero@ctsfl.us
Allen Riggs, (727) 942-5608, Cell (727) 916-1404 or email: ariggs@ctsfl.us
Preston Bales, (727) 942-5608, Cell (727) 916-1688  or email: pbales@ctsfl.us

Building Development Personnel Licensure

The Building Development Department is pleased to announce the addition of seven new permits applications to the City of Tarpon Springs on-line permitting services.

  1. Fence
  2. Garage Door
  3. Gas
  4. Residential & Commercial Demolitions
  5. Roofing
  6. Tree only residential, not new construction or commercial
  7. Windows & Doors

Already existing on-line permit applications are (mechanical A/C change outs less than $7,500 and electric service panel change out less than $2,500). Please keep in mind that all applicable permit application documentation is required to be submitted through our upload option that is available at the time the application is submitted on-line. If you have any questions, you may contact dsinfo@ctsfl.us

These permit applications are easily accessible by going this link: https://tarp-egov.aspgov.com/Click2GovBP/index.html

Residential Master File – Instructions for Master File Application and Form

Refer to our DOCUMENT LIBRARY for other information and permitting forms.

Local Business Tax Renewals are due on September 30th! License renewals for this year will be mailed (emailed for those that have opted for e-renewals) during the first week of August each year. Please be on the lookout for your renewal in your mailbox or email!

Local Business Tax Application
Local Business Tax Renewal Instructions 2019-2020
Local Business Tax Step By Step

Local Business Tax Renewals On-Line